The Truncated Version/ Movies of 2020

‘Don’t talk to me till I’ve seen a movie’ is my Don’t talk to me till I’ve had my coffee. I should get that on a T-shirt. It will go over well at film festivals. It can hold its own against women on tees.

The best days are those when I wake up at 6 and knock off a movie by breakfast. The next best days are those when I knock off a movie by lunch. When I knock off a movie, I go about the rest of my day relaxed secure in the knowledge that whatever happens the day isn’t wasted as I’ve at least watched a movie.

In addition to watching a movie or two, I also spend an hour a day staring at my Letterboxd. Think of it as the equivalent of a cat preening itself. It’s also a bit like the Paul Rudd ‘look at us’ meme.


I haven’t missed a single edition of the Oscars so far. I’ve been watching them since their inaugural year in 1929. I watched them even before the tv was invented. But I won’t be watching them this year. Why? Because where are the stars? What’s an Oscar ceremony without the Stars? Like a solar eclipse on an overcast day. No disrespect to Sacha Baron but if he’s the biggest star on your red carpet, you don’t have a red carpet worthy event and I’m not going to tune in.

Nomadland will be an amazing winner though.


Speaking of, here are my favorite movies of 2020:

Nomadland
Promising Young Woman
Tenet
Hamilton
First Cow
I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Borat Subsequent Movie Film
The Rental
Nasir
I’m Your Woman

Yet to see: Minari

Leave a comment