The Three Hours after Midnight

By: rahul

May 10 2011

Category: movies

1 Comment

Fulham hadn’t conceded in 6 of their last 7 home games, and had also failed to score against Liverpool in 6 of their last 7 meetings (only one of those is courtesy Opta). But what happened next? 7 goals went in. That’s crazy I tell you, and this craziness was only the beginning. At that moment, I was scared and screaming out for an exorcist as Liverpool were playing like a team possessed and I could barely recognize them. Think of me as a dog screaming at its alien-invaded-master.

As if this wasn’t enough, there was the movie as well. A movie called ‘Incendies’. A movie which was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film. A movie which I wouldn’t hesitate to place alongside the likes of A Prophet, Waltz with Bashir, The Lives of Others, No Man’s Land, Amelie, The Class, your favorite oscar nominated foreign films this list.

The movie’s about two twins who go from Canada to Palestine(?) in search of their brother and father following their mother’s death. It features honor killing, political assassination, religious conflict, amongst other things. The premise at the outset doesn’t seem as crazy, as say, as that of its fellow contender ‘Kynodontas’, but it ends up being miles ahead on the craziness scale, come the end.

Massive influence of twitter on this post. Right from the first para, which is essentially an amalgamate of my last nights’ tweets, and all those film critics who I follow & continue to spoil me with their recommendations. You see people, micro-blogging ain’t all bad news for blogging.

A quick shout-out for Fast Five, which I felt was more deserving of the IMAX screen than say Avatar. Rio kicks Pandora’s butt every single day of the week. Unobtanium, my ass.

One comment on “The Three Hours after Midnight”

  1. @ “micro-blogging ain’t all bad news for blogging.”
    From a writer’s perspective you might think I have already written that, and from a reader’s you might feel I have already read that. No? 😀
    Movie up my Watch-list!


Leave a Reply

