Safin’s no joke, not always that is

Safin had a meaningful victory after many a year yesterday and to celebrate the moment i have decided to not ruin it by indulging in my all too familiar/ run of the mill/ cliched/ egocentric/ sarcastic phrases. So read on and enjoy.

“Everything’s gonna depend on me. Every match, every point, every set. I’m not depending on anybody, any player. I depend on myself. If I play good, I mean, the other guy has no chance.”

“I am not a singer or a rock star. Tennis is Tennis. If you want to see a clown, go to a circus.”

“I am not like Americans I have my own picture on my wall”- when asked who his boyhood idol was.

“I need to find the motivation, you know, against Sampras. That’s why I brought so many blondes here tonight.”

“No, she’s not. Two women is too much for me.”
— when asked if his mother was in Melbourne in addition to his sister.

“So on a day, yeah, he can kill everybody. He doesn’t even beat them, he can kill them. So I think that’s what makes him so dangerous.” -Roger Federer on Marat

Anyway, if there was ever a player who could outdo Safin when it came to wittier quotes and smashing racquets, it has to be Goran Ivanisevic backed up by gems like these

“I played like Kournikova – 20 double faults per match”

“I broke a racquet but that’s okay. If I don’t break a racquet it’s not okay.”

“They’ve lost my page. Somebody ripped it out. But I’m the main sponsor for the tour! I’m the guy who paid the most fines, so they should give me respect. There should be a page saying ‘This is the guy who paid the most fines.’ I don’t exist now. I’m a ghost, so I can do whatever I want.” (on being left out of the 2004 ATP Player Guide)

“I hit a first serve, and if that doesn’t go in then I hit another first serve, and if that doesn’t go in then I lose the point”

“I was pretty nice to the raquet all last week. I was surprised how easy it broke. Maybe there is something wrong with it, or I’m too strong.”

“Actually, I tossed it nicely, landed nicely, like airplane. No warning, beautiful. That’s the art of throwing racquets.”

“I hit a lot of forehands because my backhand was like roulette. I did not know where it is going. It is like my golf. I never know where the ball goes.”

Leave a Reply

